Directors and officers

Chairman of the board

John Barton

Aged 69. Became a member of the Board in 2002 and was appointed Deputy Chairman in 2004 and Chairman in 2006. He is also Chairman of Catlin Group Limited and easyJet plc and a non-executive director of SSP. John previously served as Chief Executive of JIB Group plc, Chairman of Cable and Wireless Worldwide plc, Jardine Lloyd Thompson Group plc, Wellington Underwriting plc and Brit Insurance Holdings plc and as a non-executive director of WH Smith plc and Hammerson plc.


Lord Wolfson of Aspley Guise, Chief Executive

Aged 46. Joined the Group in 1991. Appointed Retail Sales Director in 1993, became responsible for NEXT Directory in 1995 and was appointed to the Board in 1997 with additional responsibilities for systems. Appointed Managing Director of the NEXT Brand in 1999 and Chief Executive in 2001.

Christos Angelides, Group Product Director

Aged 50. Joined the Group in 1986 and has a wealth of experience in the Product area, starting at NEXT as a Trainee Menswear Buyer and became General Manager of NEXT's sourcing office in Hong Kong in 1989, Menswear Product Director in 1994 and Womenswear Product Director in 1998. He was appointed to the Board in 2000 and has overall responsibility for all aspects of the design, buying, quality and merchandising of NEXT products.

David Keens, Group Finance Director

Aged 60. Joined NEXT in 1986 as Group Treasurer and was appointed to the Board in 1991. Previous experience includes seven years in the accountancy profession and nine years in the UK and overseas operations of multinational manufacturers of consumer goods, with roles including Group Treasurer and Finance Director. Professional qualifications include the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants and the Association of Corporate Treasurers.

Michael Law, Group Operations Director

Aged 52. Joined the Group in 1995 as Call Centre Manager for the NEXT Directory. Michael was appointed Call Centre Director in 2003 and in 2006 took responsibility for Group IT. In 2010 he was appointed Group Operations Director, adding Warehousing and Logistics to his portfolio. Michael is now responsible for all Systems, Warehousing, Logistics and Call Centres within the Group and was appointed to the Board in 2013.

Jane Shields, Group Sales and Marketing Director

Aged 50. Joined NEXT Retail in 1985 as a Sales Assistant in one of our London stores. Jane worked her way through Store Management to be appointed Sales Director in 2000, responsible for all store operations and training. In 2006 Jane took additional responsibility for Retail Marketing and in 2010 was appointed Group Sales and Marketing Director, adding Directory and online marketing to her portfolio. She was appointed to the Board in 2013.

Company Secretary

Seonna Anderson

Independent non-executive directors

Jonathan Dawson, Senior Independent Non-executive Director

Aged 62. Became a member of the Board in 2004. He is also a non-executive director of Jardine Lloyd Thompson Group plc and National Grid plc and a partner in Penfida Partners LLP. Previous experience includes non-executive directorships of National Australia Group Europe Ltd, Standard Life Investments (Holdings) Limited and Galliford Try plc, eight years in the Ministry of Defence and over twenty years in investment banking with Lazard.

Steve Barber

Aged 62. Became a member of the Board in 2007. Previous experience includes almost thirty years in the accountancy profession, principally with Price Waterhouse where he was a senior partner. Formerly Finance Director of Mirror Group and Chief Operating Officer of Whitehead Mann. Founder of The Objectivity Partnership, a member of the Audit Quality Forum and Chairman of Design Objectives.

Christine Cross

Aged 62. Became a member of the Board in 2005. She is also a non-executive director of Sonae Group Ltd (Portugal), Woolworths Limited (Australia), Brambles Limited (Australia) and Kathmandu Limited (New Zealand). Christine is also a retail advisor to Apax Partners and Warburg Pincus. Previous experience includes Chief Retail Advisor to PricewaterhouseCoopers, fourteen years as a director at Tesco plc and fifteen years lecturing and course director roles at Edinburgh and Bath Universities.

Francis Salway

Aged 56. Joined the Board in June 2010. He is also Chairman of Town & Country Housing Group and a non-executive director of Cadogan Group Limited. Formerly Chief Executive of Land Securities Group plc and past president of the British Property Federation.

Caroline Goodall

Aged 58. Became a member of the Board in January 2013. Caroline has thirty years' experience in the legal profession, with twenty years as a corporate finance partner at Herbert Smith, including five years as head of the Global Corporate Division. She is currently a non-executive director of SVG Capital plc and a non-executive on the Partnership Board of Grant Thornton UK LLP, as well as a trustee and member of the Council of the National Trust.

Board committees

Audit Committee
Steve Barber (Committee Chairman)Caroline Goodall
Christine CrossFrancis Salway
Jonathan Dawson
Remuneration Committee
Jonathan Dawson (Committee Chairman)Christine Cross
Steve BarberCaroline Goodall
John BartonFrancis Salway
Nomination Committee
John Barton (Committee Chairman)Jonathan Dawson
Steve BarberCaroline Goodall
Christine CrossFrancis Salway